Publish content instantly¶
When you publish a Content item, it is given a Location ID and placed in the Content tree. After you click Publish, the Content item is validated and if any of the required Fields are not configured, you see a notification. Once the Content item passes the validation, it is immediately available to the visitor.
Publishing vs. saving¶
Clicking Save does not immediately publish the Content item. Instead, it saves the new version of the content as a draft. You can then keep on editing the same content and save it again when needed, or leave the editor by using the X icon in the upper left corner.
Only selecting Delete draft removes the whole draft and all the work you have done on it. A discarded draft is removed instantly, not placed in the Trash, so it can't be restored.
Once you leave the editor after saving your draft, you can return to modify it, or create a new draft. To edit an existing draft, go to the Versions tab and click the edit icon in the proper line. When you select Edit in a Content item that has one or more open drafts, you are asked which draft you want to continue working on. You also have the option to create a new draft based on the currently published version.
You cannot edit an unpublished draft created by another user.