Skip to content

Site Factory

The Site Factory enables you to easily create and manage multiple sites in different languages from one place. All the sites can be kept in the Repository of your installation. To be able to use it, the Site Factory has to be enabled and configured by your administrator. For more information see developer documentation on Site Factory.

Create a site

To access Site Factory select the Site tab and Site Factory icon. If Site Factory is enabled, and you have sufficient permissions, you should be able to click the Create button and access Creating a new Site.

Site Factory icon

Here, you can create an entirely new site or a different language version of an already existing site. First, you select a name, a predefined design, and a Parent Location for your site.

Create a new site step one

If the design defines a Site skeleton, you can choose if you want to copy the entire content structure of the design with a toggle. To preview the Site skeleton architecture go to Admin > Site skeletons tab.

Next, you can decide if the site will go live after creation or will be offline with the Status switcher. In this section you also define the SiteAccess URL addresses with their main languages, fallback languages, and optional paths for the site.

Path limitation

The path can be only one directory deep. Do not use paths that have more than one element, for example, /en/articles.

For more information about SiteAccesses, see Multisite.

Create a new site step two

If all required fields are filled out you can select Create, and the site will be added to the site list in the Site tab.

Note

A SiteAccess that you create in Site Factory is always treated with lower priority than a SiteAccess defined by the administrator as part of configuration. For example, if you create a site that uses the fr path in Site Factory, and the administrator defines a French site manually in configuration files, your site is ignored by the system.

Edit a site

To edit the site select Site settings icon that is situated next to the site name. Here, you can edit all the elements you selected during creation of the site:

  • name
  • design
  • visibility
  • URL
  • language

Preview a site

To preview the site, select the Location preview icon (the eye icon) that is situated next to the site name. It will transfer you to Page Builder site preview.

Delete a site

To enable deleting a site you have to change the site status to offline. Live sites cannot be deleted. Next, select the Delete icon and confirm your choice.

Site list